Posted by: Michelle Mitton | May 4, 2008

The Great Cookie Face Off

I have a standard chocolate cookie recipe, I know it so well I could give it to you from memory and it’s served me well for a dozen years.

But apparently it’s getting old with Andrew because he was going through my December issue of FamilyFun magazine and came across their recipe for Chocolate Crinkles.

“CHOCOLATE CRINKLES!” He squealed before ripping the recipe out and bringing it to me with those puppy dog eyes. Those eyes.

He claimed his mom had made them for him when he was young and that he’d been looking for this chocolate crinkly reunion for lo these many years.

“Yea, whatever. I’ll make the cookies,” I said. And a couple days later after dinner I plopped a plate of Chocolate Crinkles down in front of him.

He took a bite.

“Did you roll these in powdered sugar?” he asked skeptically through a mouthful.

“What?” I said, inwardly very irritated that he could tell that I’d cut that corner. How did he know??

“Yea, you didn’t roll these in powdered sugar.” he said, putting down the cookie, as if the case was closed and there was no point in finishing such an abomination.

I refrained from telling him where he could put that cookie–held back only by the sheer force of true love–but I wasn’t giving up quite yet. My cookie honor was at stake.

I made up a second batch a few days later, properly and carefully rolled in powdered sugar before they were baked just as my neurotic but handsome husband had suggested and again I plopped down a cookie plate for dessert to see what the verdict was.

They were good. The powdered sugar rolling had made them a little crusty and crunchy (I suppose that’s where the “crinkle” part comes in) but honestly? I wasn’t convinced that all that extra rolling effort was worth it. They were good–but were they worth getting my hands all messy? I’m still not sure so here I am, posting both recipes and you can decide which you prefer. I’ll leave a poll at the end if you’re feeling particularly domestic and end up making them both you can vote for yourself and see which way the votes go. The votes don’t lie.

My Own Recipe:
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup powdered cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips

Cream the butter and sugars. Then add the vanilla and eggs and mix thoroughly. Then add the flour, cocoa, soda and salt. Mix and add in the chocolate chips toward the end so that they get mixed in before the dough starts clumping completely together.

Bake at 350 degrees for 11-13 minutes. You can also add a half cup of flaked coconut, walnuts or peanut butter chips for fun variety.

Chocolate Crinkles:
3/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 6-ounce bag chocolate chips
3/4 cup powdered sugar

In a large bowl, mix the melted butter, cocoa powder and sugar; beat in the eggs and vanilla extract. In a medium-sized bowl, stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Slowly mix in the wet ingredients, then stir in the chips. Refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Form the dough into 1-inch balls and roll in confectioners’ sugar. Bake on an ungreased baking sheet for 12 minutes.

  • Chocolate Crinkles
  • My Own Recipe
  • Another recipe? Is there a better one out there? Leave it in the comments!

Technorati tags:

Leave a Reply

Categories

