Posted by: Michelle Mitton | May 20, 2008

Some Room for Dad by Guest Poster Janice at "5 Minutes for Mom"

Janice at 5 Minutes for MomIs there anyone who hasn’t already heard of 5 Minutes for Mom run by sisters Janice and Susan? I thought not. And I’ll tell you a secret–Janice and Susan are just as nice as you’d expect them to be, nice and they produce great content. Today I’m honored to swap blogs with 5 Minutes for Mom and welcome Janice as a guest poster–I’m over at her place typing away about the difficulties that blogging sometimes presents and I’d love to see you there!

***

I want to be my children’s hero. I want them to adore me. I want to meet all their needs and be the best mom I can possibly be.

Where I fail in the “homemaking” area, (I rarely ever wear an apron, let alone cook any gourmet meals and our kitchen table is usually covered in laptops and paperwork instead of matching placemats and folded napkins,) I try to make up for with my total adoration of my children. I would trade my life for theirs in an instant and I try to live out that love for them.

But as a work at home mom, I have chosen the (sometimes crazy) path of trying to contribute financially to the family while being (somewhat) available to my children. While I am far more available than when I was working outside of the home, working from home still brings “mom guilt.”

I mean, how can I be the mom I want to be when I am continually running to my computer or juggling phone calls while I change diapers and pack lunches?

My children have to share me with my work.

I feel guilty just typing it. But it is true.

What is this doing to my kids? Am I teaching them that they aren’t important or that I don’t love them enough?

I sure hope not. I hope that my choices are teaching them that Mommy is working hard to help provide for them. I hope I am teaching them the value of a dollar and that money doesn’t just appear – we have to earn it.

But today I learned something else that my busy schedule is doing. My work priorities are making room for their Dad to shine.

For Jackson’s homework today he had to write three sentences about why his Dad is special. The first thing that came to his mind was, “My Dad is special because he takes me swimming.”

This stood out to me because I have felt guilty that I am not the one taking Jackson to all of his lessons. I miss that I haven’t seen him splash his way through all of his badges. I wish that I didn’t have to miss so many outings to the YMCA to go play in the pool because I have to stay home and work.

But while I am missing out because I have work responsibilities, my husband is getting the chance to spend time with his children.

After being away all day at work, my husband gets to come home and meet some critical needs of our children.

And Jackson notices. That time with his Dad is special. I don’t get the glory for taking Jackson swimming. That belongs to his Dad.

***

Happy day to Coralie at Life More Abundantly and to Mary in Hillsboro, North Carolina for each winning a set of Pak Naks. Also, congratulations to Sandra of San Bernadino, California for winning the lovely book Sow and Grow by Tina Davis. All from this Saturday’s giveaway. Love that free stuff!

Technorati tags:

Responses

  1. kM8IUo Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!


Leave a Reply

Categories

