Posted by: Michelle Mitton | June 3, 2008

How to Get Rid of Tapeworms

How to Get Rid of TapewormsAnd finally, I’ll leave you with a pleasant sort of story that occurred in the car this past week.

David has been on a bug-kick lately. As in the last six years. But particularly the past week where he’s spent many hours stalking centipedes in the garden. It’s truly disgusting and disturbing, don’t even make me explain the horror of it all. I’m a patient mother but I refuse to let David keep his bugs in the house. I don’t care if they are entombed in an Alcatraz-like Mason jar, those suckers look nasty enough to eat through the glass walls then kill us all in our beds while we sleep.

He can keep them in their jar on the back porch, thank you very little. Anyway, Spencer and David were with me in the car talking about their centipedes and the subject turned to worms. Then to tapeworms which they discussed at length. (Ha! That’s kind of a pun–tapeworms. At length. Yea, I get my chuckles when I can).

At any rate, Spencer then said with all the authority of a mini Jack Hannah-Mutual of Omaha Wild Kingdom man, “I know how to get rid of tapeworms if you have them inside you.”

“Hmmmmm . . . .” I said, impressed that he even knew what tapeworms were. “Really?”

“Yes, if you have a tapeworm you just open your mouth and squirt a whole bunch of whipped cream around in your mouth and then wait and the tapeworm will climb up your throat to get the whipped cream. When it pokes its head out to eat the pile of whipped cream you just grab it and pull it up your throat and it comes right out.”

“Where did you hear of this slick little trick?”

“Some girl at school told me all about it.”

“I see.” Lovely.

I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or to wig out. Either way it’s a gem of a story. That’s one you’re not going to find in Web M.D. “How to get rid of tapeworms: See whipped cream.”

***

And as for the winners of this weekend’s giveaway (are you just thinking that with all these giveaways your odds of winning SOMETHING have got to be pretty darn good?) Molly from Citrus Heights, California has won a Tastebook.com cook book but I’m still waiting to hear from the other cook book winner and the winner of the Best Buy Insignia Fitness Package from this weekend’s giveaway. Check those spam boxes . . . I’ll redraw tomorrow if I haven’t heard back by then.

Technorati tags:


Leave a comment

Categories