Posted by: Michelle Mitton | October 28, 2008

The Things Orville Redenbacher Fails to Warn Against

PopcornThe kids came home from school looking for their afternoon snack so I pulled out the popcorn popper to make a quick treat.

The kernels started exploding in the microwave popper and soon they started to run over the top of the bucket so I pulled it out to dump it into the bowl. I thought all the kernels had finished popping BUT . . .

When I had poured most of the popcorn into a bowl suddenly the last kernel popped, spraying a bunch of popcorn up into the air. A hot, unpopped kernel rose into the air in a poetic arch, up . . . up . . . up then down . . . down . . . down and right into the open crack at the neck of my blouse.

At which point my unprotected flesh began to sear in a most uncomfortable and undesirable way.

The kids looked at me rather oddly as I danced around the kitchen in a screaming panic trying to dig the red-hot coal from the crater it had formed on my skin. By the time I finally reached it it was practically embedded in an inch of blistering scar tissue and I was suddenly not quite in the mood for popcorn.

The things Orville Redenbacher does not mention on their packaging.

***

And here are a few links to some great things I’ve been noticing around the internet lately:

* Make an adorable on-the-go dinosaur play mat from Craftster.

* Make a contemporary and sleek outdoor fire pit from Casa Sugar.

* You haven’t seen Halloween decorations until you’ve seen this cardboard castle from the master of paper craft, Ann Wood.

* Check out this recipe for Grandma’s Chocolate Pie from The Homesick Texan. I’m drooling.

* View results of Amy’s Deep Dish Pizza Experiment at The Motherload.

* The only thing cuter than puppies are these Puppy Pops from Bakerella.

* If you’re into pirates you’ll love these pirate posters from 826 Valencia.

* Looking for a good Halloween costume that can make it all through the winter? Knit up one of these Dwarven Battle Helmets from Wicked Woolens.

***

Oops! Almost forgot to mention that Karen from Bridgewater, New Jersey was our random winner from this week’s Karen Cole Paper Giveaway. I’ve had questions about how I choose a winner and actually I don’t “choose” at all, I go to a site that generates random numbers, fill in the field that asks how many random numbers I want (1) then the parameters for the selection–say, from 1 to 400 or however many entries there were–then once I’ve plugged in the requirements I hit enter and voila! I’ve got my winner.

Sponsored by:Beau-Coup–Fine and unique baby shower favors.

Technorati tags:

Leave a Reply

Categories

