Posted by: Michelle Mitton | December 12, 2008

All I Want for Christmas . . .

Over the years I’ve told plenty of “Andrew” stories–there was the time he revealed his deepest, darkest, green bean secret. And then there was his desire to enter the Olympics as Spiderman and his effectiveness at teaching the boys the sleeper hold–I tell you I keep thinking that I know him inside out and there’s nothing left to surprise me after sixteen years but then out of nowhere . . .

The kids were talking about Christmas presents, agonizing over what to get whom and how to get all their presents before the Big Day. David caught Andrew in the kitchen while he was making himself a snack (probably toast with peanut butter if I know my man) and David said, “Dad, what do you want for Christmas?”

“Oh a subscription to Runner’s World, a new book to read, maybe something like that.”

“But I don’t have any money–what do you want that I can make for you? What do you want that doesn’t cost anything?”

In this great big deep voice he said, “Well, son, if you really want to get me the best Christmas present just take a picture of your bicep and then on the back write to me about how much you want to grow up to have muscles as big as mine.”

“Okaaaaay . . . “

He’s a gem I tell you.

***

As a parting gift for the weekend I have some links to share that I’ve saved in my deli.cio.us bookmarks:

  • Make some beaded topiary trees with help from The Great Walls of Baltimore.
  • Oatmeal can’t get any better than Coconut Cream Oatmeal from Baking Bites.
  • I love these mini pies from Sunflowers in My Kitchen.
  • This tutorial for making paper from lint is too wild to pass up.
  • Lisa at U-handblog teaches how to make your own tofu. I’m trying to decide whether I’m up for the challenge.
  • These egg muffins from Kayln’s Kitchen are going to be on the menu for our holiday breakfast.
  • If this key lime cheesecake from Chocolate on my Cranium is anything like the key lime Godiva truffle I had this summer it’s got to be divine.
***

And again here are five commentors that deserve a big thank you for their comments over the months, they’re good people to have as blogging friends:

Jellyjules.com–whom I have actually had the pleasure of meeting. Over pizza!
Make it from Scratch and her wonderful carnival by the same name and if you like Stephanie . . .
Check out Applehead where her husband Tim hangs out.
Compost Happens where the head composter, Daisy, always has a great post up.
Book-a-rama which has always got great reading suggestions from Chris.

Sponsored by: Wedding Paper Divas–Fine wedding invitations for the perfect wedding.

Leave a Reply

Categories

