Posted by: Michelle Mitton | January 30, 2009

Someone I’d Like You to Meet: Summer from Summer’s Nook

Summer from Summer's NookThis month’s Write-Away Contest guest judge was Summer from Summer’s Nook–a talented woman who reads, writes, sews, cooks, designs, blogs, mothers and in the process inspires the rest of us. Be sure to visit her blog to see what she’s up to this week and tell her thanks for judging the contest. And by the way . . . check the bottom of this post for a hint about next month’s contest. It’s gonna be terrific!

***

What kind of creative things do you like to do and how do you fit them into your schedule?

I am passionate about learning so I am always looking to teach myself something new. Within the past couple of years I’ve taken up basic bead jewelry making, sewing (still very much a beginner), blogging, blog design and couponing.

In addition to that I find time to crochet, read, write, play piano, baking, cake decorate, scrapbook, play video games and do genealogy. Of course, I don’t do all of them all the time. Rather I go through short spurts where I’m intently focused on one or two until I move on to the next and then the next and come back round again. The only ones I keep up on a really regular basis are reading, piano, blogging and blog design at my site Designs by Summer.

What kinds of things do you wish you knew how to do?

I’ve always wanted to learn about wood working. Unfortunately it’s a more expensive hobby so maybe at a later point in my life I’ll get to try it out. I also wish I could dance really well. I think it would be a blast to learn to dance like some of the people I’ve seen on So You Think You Can Dance or to take couple classes with my hubby.

What’s your favorite thing about blogging?

Being an “at home” mom can get pretty lonely at times and blogging has helped me feel like I’m part of a community even when I’m stuck at home for the day. I’ve also really loved getting to know people I wouldn’t have met except through that medium.

Do you feel that there is a lot of comparison that goes on among women bloggers? How do you feel about comparison—or some might call it competition? Does it help or hinder us as bloggers or the community as a whole?

I actually wrote a piece about this subject for the Group Write-Away project for July called Misconception. I think we compare ourselves to others on a daily basis, sometimes without realizing it. But it’s not always a negative thing. You might look at an acquaintance and think, “That’s such a great attribute she has, I want to be like that” and feel empowered to try and adopt that attribute.

Comparing ourselves with a mindset like that can be a positive thing if it helps us strive to become better. But comparing oneself to a woman with the sole intent of bashing on the fact that you’re not like her is what is most damaging.

As for the woman/mommy blogging community, I have found it to be a wonderfully supportive sphere.

What opinion could you give that would be the most controversial?

Shrimp is the most odious smelling, disgustingly textured, foul tasting food on the face of the earth!
What was the last book you read? What book do you like the least?

Austenland by Shannon Hale and I thought it was delightful. My least favorite book I’ve ever read was A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle. I had to read it in 6th grade and absolutely loathed it. Of course I’m contemplating re-reading it to see if my memories of it were swayed by being forced to read it back then…

What was the scariest thing you’ve ever faced?

A toxic medicine interaction that gave me instant Panic Disorder. I’ve written a little bit about it on my blog. I’m working on getting the rest written but it’s difficult to relive.

What kind of weather do you like best?

Sunny and warm/hot. I love the desert!

If you could have every person in North America reading your blog would you like that? Would you like that kind of fame?

Why not? I’m pretty sure blogging fame doesn’t bring along the paparazzi. If it does, then I change my answer. 🙂

***

Just BicyclesGet ready for another Write-Away Contest starting February 2nd and as the month will be a short one I’ll give you a hint of what the topic will be: our sponsor is the fabulous website Just Bicycles where you can find all sorts of gorgeous bicycles like the ladies beach cruiser you see at the right here. Can’t you just picture yourself riding this beauty down a country road with a vintage basket on the front filled with flowers?

The prize is going to be wonderful so starting thinking about bicycles! (Do you know that I’ve always wanted to have a tandem bike? Always.)

Sponsored by Dimples and Dandelions–for the Serena and Lily Bedding Collection for Children.

Technorati tags:

Leave a Reply

Categories

